National Honor Society

  • NHS Induction 

    National Honors Society held pin ceremony for all one and two-year members and and induction for new students on November 15th. NHS members were greeted with smiles while the school’s principal, Dr.Millet, presented them their pins. Seniors then gave pins to the newest members. Students celebrated their ceremony by going outside for pictures and refreshments. Antoinette Chiarella stated, “It was a great experience for older members because we got to receive our pin for the first time and I was happy to see the new members get inducted.” Charlene Eymard, leader of NHS, commented saying, “This group of 71 students beautifully epitomize the four pillars of National Honor Society: scholarship, leadership, community service, and character. It was my honor to celebrate the achievements of these students.”

    NHS Guidelines

    The St. Charles Catholic chapter of the National Honor Society recognizes students who meet certain standards in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. After the completion of a semester, students who have maintained at least a 3.5 GPA (with no C's) for two consecutive nine weeks periods are invited to apply for membership. After completing an application acquiring two faculty recommendations, the students are evaluated by the Dean of Students and all submitted materials go before the NHS Faculty committee.

    Although one's GPA is a large factor in a student being admitted into NHS, service and leadership are where the organization truly thrives. Past service projects have included working with Habitat for Humanity, assisting with Bingo at LaPlace du Bourg, and raising money and supplies for its the  “Santa Paws” Drive that benefits the St. John Parish Animal Shelter, and teaming up Riverside Academy's Beta Club in a collection of canned foods for the needy of the parish.

    2019-2020 School Year Members:

    Matthew Accardo, Danielle Adams, Yvette Aguirre, Rylee Alexander, Brianna Allen, Dani Aucoin, Christina Gradney, Kristen Gray, Emily Aucoin, Jessica Basilides, Gregory Bergeron, Kelly Campbell, Collin Cedotal, Antoinette Chiarella, Barry Cummins, Justin Dumas, Jeremiah Emery, Mallory Fernandez, Morgan Figuero, Marcus Forest, Brooke Forsythe, Brynn Furgeson, Emily Giammolva, Christina Gradney, Haley Guzman, Joseph Haydel, Estelle Heinold, Blakely Heltz, Jenna Hickman, Hailey Hilbun, Liberty Hughes, Aj Iyer, Ishan Iyer, Brady Jacob, Jake Jeandron, Dominic Joseph, Mylah Joseph, Olivia Keating, Wintress Landry, Austin Martin, Emma Mohon, Riley Monica, Joseph Nguyen, Sejal Patel, Valerie Perilloux, Zahria Phillip, Gabriella Portillo, Juliana Portillo, Allison Powell, Margaret Powell, Colette Rainey, Luke Ringe, Emily Ronnenburg, Kassadi Ross, Aiden Roussel, Jeanne St. Martin, Lauren St. Martin, Sara St. Pierre, Camryn Stewart, Landon Terry, Jacob Todd, Karen Trichell, Zack Vicknair, Kelsey Villeret, Lauren Weber, Madeline Wilkie, Morgan Williams, and Kirstin Wilson